The League of Minnesota Cities is a membership organization dedicated to promoting excellence in local government. The League serves its more than 800 member cities through advocacy, education and training, policy development, risk management, and other services.
View the League’s 2019-2020 Annual Report (pdf)

Our mission

The League of Minnesota Cities promotes excellence in local government through effective advocacy, expert analysis, and trusted guidance for all Minnesota cities.

Our vision

We envision a future for Minnesota and the League where:

  • All cities are thriving, taking advantage of new opportunities, and successfully meeting ongoing challenges.
  • The League continues to provide premier service to its members, and is recognized as the trusted, authoritative, and unified voice on issues affecting cities.

Read about our core values
View the League Constitution (pdf)

History of the League

The League of Minnesota Cities was founded in 1913 by a special law passed by the Minnesota Legislature. It was initially a part of the Extension Division of the University of Minnesota. In 1974, the League became an independent organization. Today, the League’s membership includes cities and their elected and appointed officials, as well as a number of special municipal districts and townships.

How many cities are there in Minnesota and how many of them are League members?

There are 853 cities in Minnesota, and 835 cities are members of the League of Minnesota Cities. Eleven townships, one joint powers entity, and 64 special districts are also League members.
Read about membership dues rates

Learn more about League members

Access the Online City Directory to get general information about a city, including street address, office hours, phone, fax, email and website addresses, population, and city council meeting times.