Every day, city officials throughout Minnesota do outstanding work that promotes quality of life in our communities. The League of Minnesota Cities offers cities an opportunity each year to showcase that work through the annual City of Excellence Awards. The awards are designed to recognize accomplishments — large and small — that enhance the vitality and quality of life in Minnesota cities.

The nomination period for 2020 ended May 29, and winners will be announced soon! Stay tuned for more information.

Winners are chosen in each of three general population categories. A single award is also presented in a topical category. The 2020 topical category was “City Fire Department Staffing and Coverage.”

Each first place-winning city receives a cash prize of $1,000, a commemorative plaque, and special recognition. Winning cities are also featured in League press releases and publications.