Submission for the 2023 LMC Awards Program is now closed.

Start thinking of the city projects and people you’d like to nominate in 2024!

The League each year honors the special achievements of cities and city leaders with the City of Excellence Awards, C.C. Ludwig Award, James F. Miller Leadership Award, and Sustainable City Award. City officials can now be nominated for the Emerging Leader Award.

About City of Excellence Awards

The City of Excellence Awards recognize cities for outstanding work. Awards are given in three population categories and in one special topical category, which is different each year. The 2023 Topical Category is Creative Solutions for City Housing Challenges.

Read more about the City of Excellence Awards

About the Individual Awards

The C.C. Ludwig Award recognizes elected officials who have made significant contributions to Minnesota city government. Similarly, the James F. Miller Leadership Award honors appointed city officials who have gone above and beyond the call of duty for their city and all Minnesota cities.

Learn more about the individual awards

About the Sustainable City Award

Cities currently participating in the Minnesota GreenStep Cities program are eligible for the League of Minnesota Cities Sustainable City Award.

Learn more about the Sustainable City Award