Meet the League's Intergovernmental Relations Staff

The League's Intergovernmental Relations (IGR) staff work on legislative issues that matter to cities. Feel free to contact our IGR staff members with any questions, concerns, or suggestions regarding legislative issues.

IGR staff members and legislative issues:

Photo: Gary CarlsonGary Carlson
Intergovernmental Relations Director
(651) 281-1255
gcarlson@lmc.org
www.twitter.com/garyncarlson

Legislative issues:

  • Aid to cities
  • Economic development
  • Pensions and retirement
  • Public finance
  • Taxes
  • Tax increment financing (TIF)
  • Workers' compensation

Photo: Anne FinnAnne Finn
Assistant Intergovernmental Relations Director
(651) 281-1263
afinn@lmc.org
www.twitter.com/annemfinn

Legislative issues:

  • Emergency management
  • Employment and human resources
  • Public safety
  • State bonding
  • Transportation

Ted BengtsonTed Bengtson
IGR Administrative Coordinator
(651) 281-1242
tbengtson@lmc.org
www.twitter.com/tbengtsonLMC

Legislative issues:

  • General
  • Member relations

Photo: Craig JohnsonCraig Johnson
Intergovernmental Relations Representative
(651) 281-1259
cjohnson@lmc.org
www.twitter.com/cajohnson_1

Legislative issues:

  • Energy
  • Environment
  • Land use and annexation
  • Local/tribal relations
  • State bonding
  • Sustainable development
  • Wastewater, drinking water, and stormwater

Irene Kao, LMC Intergovernmental Relations CounselIrene Kao
Intergovernmental Relations Counsel
(651) 281-1260
ikao@lmc.org
www.twitter.com/irenewkao

Legislative issues:

  • Civil liability
  • Building code
  • Data practices and Open Meeting Law
  • Employment law
  • Land use and zoning

Daniel Lightfoot
Intergovernmental Relations Representative
(651) 281-1295
dlightfoot@lmc.org
www.twitter.com/DFLightfoot

Legislative issues:

  • Broadband
  • Cable/franchising
  • Housing
  • Telecommunications & information technology
  • Wireless infrastructure

Photo: Ann LindstromAnn Lindstrom
Intergovernmental Relations Representative
(651) 281-1261
alindstrom@lmc.org
www.twitter.com/AnnRL

Legislative issues:

  • Elections
  • Employment and human resources
  • Federal relations and advocacy
  • Local/state regulation and licensing
  • Preemption