Meet the League’s Intergovernmental Relations Staff

The League’s Intergovernmental Relations (IGR) staff work on legislative issues that matter to cities. Feel free to contact our IGR staff members with any questions, concerns, or suggestions regarding legislative issues.

IGR staff members and legislative issues:

Gary Carlson

Intergovernmental Relations Director
(651) 281-1255
gcarlson@lmc.org
www.twitter.com/garyncarlson

Legislative issues:

  • Aid to cities
  • Local government aid (LGA)
  • Pensions and retirement
  • Public finance
  • Taxes

Anne Finn

Assistant Intergovernmental Relations Director
(651) 281-1263
afinn@lmc.org
www.twitter.com/annemfinn

Legislative issues:

  • Emergency management
  • Public safety
  • State bonding
  • Transportation
  • Workers’ compensation

Ted Bengtson

IGR Administrative Coordinator
(651) 281-1242
tbengtson@lmc.org
www.twitter.com/tbengtsonLMC

Legislative issues:

  • General
  • Member relations

Brooke Bordson

Photo of Brooke Bordson
Intergovernmental Relations Representative
(651) 281-1260
bbordson@lmc.org

Legislative issues:

  • Building codes
  • Civil liability
  • Data practices and Open Meeting Law
  • Land use and zoning

Alex Hassel

Intergovernmental Relations Representative
(651) 281-1261
ahassel@lmc.org
www.twitter.com/alexhassel

Legislative issues:

  • Cannabis regulation
  • Elections
  • Employment and human resources
  • Regulated industries

Nathan Jesson

Photo of Nathan JessonIntergovernmental Relations Representative
(651) 281-1262
njesson@lmc.org
www.twitter.com/nathanfjesson

Legislative issues:

  • Aid to cities
  • Local government aid (LGA)
  • Public finance
  • Taxes
  • Tax increment financing (TIF)

Craig Johnson

Intergovernmental Relations Representative
(651) 281-1259
cjohnson@lmc.org
www.twitter.com/cajohnson_1

Legislative issues:

  • Energy
  • Environment
  • Land use and annexation
  • Local/tribal relations
  • State bonding
  • Sustainable development
  • Wastewater, drinking water, and stormwater

Daniel Lightfoot

Intergovernmental Relations Representative & Federal Relations Manager
(651) 281-1295
dlightfoot@lmc.org
www.twitter.com/DFLightfoot

Legislative issues:

  • Broadband
  • Cable/franchising
  • Economic development
  • Federal relations and advocacy
  • Housing
  • State bonding
  • Telecommunications, information technology, and wireless infrastructure