Meet the League’s Intergovernmental Relations Staff

The League’s Intergovernmental Relations (IGR) staff work on legislative issues that matter to cities. Feel free to contact our IGR staff members with any questions, concerns, or suggestions regarding legislative issues.

IGR staff members and legislative issues:

Gary Carlson

Gary Carlson PhotoIntergovernmental Relations Director
(651) 281-1255
gcarlson@lmc.org
www.twitter.com/garyncarlson

Legislative issues:

  • Aid to cities
  • Economic development
  • Pensions and retirement
  • Public finance
  • Taxes
  • Tax increment financing (TIF)
  • Workers’ compensation

Anne Finn

Anne Finn PhotoAssistant Intergovernmental Relations Director
(651) 281-1263
afinn@lmc.org
www.twitter.com/annemfinn

Legislative issues:

  • Emergency management
  • Employment and human resources
  • Public safety
  • State bonding
  • Transportation

Ted Bengtson

Ted Bengtson PhotoIGR Administrative Coordinator
(651) 281-1242
tbengtson@lmc.org
www.twitter.com/tbengtsonLMC

Legislative issues:

  • General
  • Member relations

Craig Johnson

Craig Johnson PhotoIntergovernmental Relations Representative
(651) 281-1259
cjohnson@lmc.org
www.twitter.com/cajohnson_1

Legislative issues:

  • Energy
  • Environment
  • Land use and annexation
  • Local/tribal relations
  • State bonding
  • Sustainable development
  • Wastewater, drinking water, and stormwater

Irene Kao

Irene Kao PhotoIntergovernmental Relations Counsel
(651) 281-1260
ikao@lmc.org
www.twitter.com/irenewkao

Legislative issues:

  • Building code
  • Civil liability
  • Data practices and Open Meeting Law
  • Employment law
  • Land use and zoning

Daniel Lightfoot

Daniel Lightfoot PhotoIntergovernmental Relations Representative
(651) 281-1295
dlightfoot@lmc.org
www.twitter.com/DFLightfoot

Legislative issues:

  • Broadband
  • Cable/franchising
  • Housing
  • Telecommunications & information technology
  • Wireless infrastructure

Ann Lindstrom

Ann Lindstrom PhotoIntergovernmental Relations Representative
(651) 281-1261
alindstrom@lmc.org
www.twitter.com/AnnRL

Legislative issues:

  • Elections
  • Employment and human resources
  • Federal relations and advocacy
  • Local/state regulation and licensing
  • Preemption