City of Excellence Awards

Submit your 2016 entries now!

The League is now accepting entries for the 2016 City of Excellence Awards. Chief appointed and chief elected officials in every member city will receive an entry brochure in the mail. You may also download the brochure here. The deadline to enter has been extended to May 9.

About the awards

Every day, city officials throughout Minnesota do outstanding work that promotes quality of life in our communities. The League of Minnesota Cities offers cities an opportunity each year to showcase that work through the annual City of Excellence Awards. The awards are designed to recognize accomplishments—large and small—that enhance the vitality and quality of life in Minnesota cities.

Winners are chosen in each of three general population categories. A single award is also presented in a Topical Category. For 2016, the Topical Category is "Creative Programs in Public Safety Services." Winners will be announced during the LMC Annual Conference, happening June 14-17 in St. Paul.

Each first place-winning city receives a cash prize of $1,000, a commemorative plaque, and special recognition at the LMC Annual Conference. Winning cities are also featured in League press releases and publications.

Past City of Excellence Award winners

Read about the C.C. Ludwig and Leadership Awards