2016 Presidential Award Winners

League of Minnesota Cities honors seven retiring legislators with Presidential Awards

(June 16, 2016 – St. Paul, Minn.) The League of Minnesota Cities has presented 2016 Presidential Awards to seven Minnesota state legislators, all of them former city officials, who will be retiring from office this year. The awards were presented earlier today at the League of Minnesota Cities Annual Conference, in St. Paul.

The Presidential Awards are given on an annual basis, at the discretion of the LMC president, to an individual, group, or organization that has helped to achieve a current League goal or to advance the League’s mission of promoting excellence in local government through effective advocacy, expert analysis, and trusted guidance for all Minnesota cities.

The legislators include:

  • Representative Joe Atkins; former mayor, Inver Grove Heights
  • Senator Bev Scalze; former councilmember, Little Canada
  • Senator Kathleen Sheran; former councilmember, Mankato and former member of the LMC Board of Directors
  • Senator Roger Reinert, former councilmember, Duluth
  • Senator John Pederson; former councilmember, St. Cloud
  • Senator Jim Metzen, former councilmember, South St. Paul
  • Senate Alice Johnson, former councilmember, Spring Lake Park

The League of Minnesota Cities serves its more than 830 member cities through advocacy, education and training, policy development, risk management, and other services.