2017 James F. Miller Leadership Award Winner

Spring Lake Park administrator receives LMC’s James F. Miller Leadership Award

(June 15, 2017—Rochester, Minn.) Daniel Buchholtz, administrator and clerk-treasurer of the City of Spring Lake Park, has been chosen as the League of Minnesota Cities James F. Miller Leadership Award winner for 2017. The annual award recognizes appointed city officials who provide outstanding leadership through public service and dedication to their communities and greater Minnesota, and is considered to be the League’s highest honor for appointed officials. Buchholtz received his award at the 2017 LMC Annual Conference on June 15 in Rochester.

Buchholtz has acted as a strong advocate for his cities of employment, communities around the state and Minnesota city officials. He was appointed to be Spring Lake Park’s administrator and clerk-treasurer in September 2013 after working as the city’s assistant city administrator. He also served as administrator and clerk-treasurer in Hanover and Dassel, and as assistant to the city manager in Moorhead before he came to Spring Lake Park in 2012.

Buchholtz has made many contributions to the city of Spring Lake Park. He worked with a developer to facilitate the largest redevelopment project in the city’s history, increasing employment and tax base while providing Spring Lake Park with 194 units of affordable housing. Buchholtz was also instrumental in the acquisition of an existing industrial building to serve as the city’s public works facility, building consensus among the city council and support among the public. This acquisition saved the city over $125,000 and provided the public works department with an additional 10,000 square feet over the alternative option of building on-site.

Buchholtz’s leadership and public service have not been limited to his own community. He also led an effort to partner with other communities to establish a system of trails in Hennepin and Wright counties, and has served on boards for many statewide associations including the League of Minnesota Cities, the Minnesota Association of Small Cities and the Minnesota Clerks and Finance Officers Association. He has also testified before the House and Senate committees on several bills of interest to cities, and is a respected voice at the Legislature.

“Dan has never struggled to see the bigger picture for cities within the state of Minnesota, as well as for the peers who share his passion for leading those communities,” Mayor Cindy Hansen said in her nomination letter. “He does not lead by just telling or pushing. His direction comes in the form of listening, researching, educating and teaching.”

About the judges
The 2017 James F. Miller Leadership Award nominations were judged by a panel of former members of the LMC Board of Directors, including Carol Mueller, mayor of the city of Mounds View; Brian Scholin, council member for the city of Pine City; and Craig Waldron, former administrator for the city of Oakdale and currently a professor at Hamline University instructing in public administration.