2016 James F. Miller Leadership Award Winner

Shoreview City Manager Terry Schwerm wins James F. Miller Leadership Award honors from the League of Minnesota Cities

(June 16, 2016—St. Paul, Minn.) Shoreview City Manager Terry Schwerm has been selected as the League of Minnesota Cities James F. Miller Leadership Award winner for 2016. The award was presented today at the League’s Annual Conference in St. Paul. The award is considered to be the League’s highest honor for appointed city officials and is given annually in celebration of outstanding service.

Schwerm has served as Shoreview’s city manager for the past 23 years and has been instrumental in establishing Shoreview’s reputation as a premier Twin Cities suburban community. Prior to Shoreview, he served as an administrative assistant in Glencoe, Illinois, and as assistant city manager in Minnetonka.

During his tenure in Shoreview, Schwerm has overseen major renovations in the city’s parks and a multi-million dollar expansion and renovation of the city’s Community Center. He has also been involved in development of a comprehensive trail system, which has served as a major attraction and amenity for residents of all of Ramsey County. Additionally, under Schwerm’s management, Shoreview has continually received the highest S&P bond rating, and is one of the smallest communities in Minnesota to receive the AAA rating.

Schwerm’s contributions to public service extend beyond the boundaries of Shoreview. He has served on the Ramsey County Contract Cities Joint Committee and the Lake Johanna Fire Department Board of Directors. Additionally, he serves on the Board of Directors for the Municipal Legislative Commission, an organization that advocates for policy issues shared by 17 metro communities.

One of Schwerm’s nominators noted that, “In my dealings with Terry, I have found him to be the consummate professional. He is a leader who consistently maintains the highest degree of integrity. In my opinion, the League could not find a more deserving person of this award.”

About the judges
The 2016 James F. Miller Leadership Award nominations were judged by a two-person panel of past League of Minnesota Cities presidents, including Richard Brainerd, councilmember from the City of Mahtomedi, and Jim Miller, former executive director of the League.

About the League
The League of Minnesota Cities is a membership organization dedicated to helping cities throughout Minnesota build quality communities through effective advocacy, expert analysis, trusted guidance, and collective action. The League serves its more than 830 member cities through advocacy, education and training, policy development, risk management, and other services.