2012 C.C. Ludwig Award Winners

Mayor Tim Geraghty of Newport and Mayor Scott Lund of Fridley have been selected as League of Minnesota Cities C.C. Ludwig Award winners for 2012. The honorees were announced on June 21 at the League’s Annual Conference in Duluth.

The C.C. Ludwig Award is named in honor of a former League executive director, and is considered to be the League’s highest honor for elected officials.

Established in 1962, the award is given annually in celebration of outstanding service. Recipients are chosen for their vision, statesmanship, and unwavering commitment to the public good.

Mayor Tim Geraghty
Geraghty, who received the C.C. Ludwig Award for elected officials from cities with populations of less than 10,000, was cited for “…finding ways to accomplish complex projects, building stronger community partnerships, and improving the quality of life while continually moving Newport toward the future.”

He has served on the Newport City Council from 1984 to 1993 and from 2001 to 2008, and has also served as mayor from 1994 to 2000 and from 2009 to the present. Geraghty is a member of the Minnesota Mayors Association and is employed full time as chief financial officer for the Minnesota Office of Higher Education.

Mayor Scott Lund
Lund, who received the C.C. Ludwig Award for elected officials from cities with populations of 10,000 or more, was cited for working with his city’s Council and staff and community organizations “…to provide very high quality local government services and capital projects that are not only responsive to community needs, but are affordable to Fridley residents.”

He has served as Fridley’s mayor since 2001. In 2007, he organized a successful campaign to remove utility rate restrictions from the Fridley City Charter. Lund has also actively campaigned on the city’s behalf for a number of legislative issues, including funding for a Northstar station site, funding for Springbrook Nature Center improvements, and reform of the state’s local government aid formula.

About the judges
Judges for the 2012 C.C. Ludwig Awards were Ardell F. Brede, mayor of Rochester and former League president; Tom Eggum, consultant for the Municipal Services Division of TKDA and former public works director/city engineer for St. Paul; Greg Lindsey, professor and executive associate dean for the Humphrey School of Public Affairs; and Eric Sorensen, former city administrator for the City of Winona.