2019 C.C. Ludwig Award Winner

St. Anthony Village Mayor Jerry Faust honored with top award for elected officials from the League of Minnesota Cities

(June 27, 2019–St. Paul, MN) At its Annual Conference in Duluth today, the League of Minnesota Cities presented St. Anthony Village Mayor Jerry Faust with the organization’s 2019 C.C. Ludwig Award for outstanding service.

According to his nominators, “Mayor Faust has provided clear direction, concise vision, and has successfully accomplished many well deserving achievements during his tenure.” Earlier this year, Faust was honored by the city’s Chamber of Commerce with the Villager of the Year award for his long record of noteworthy service that contributes to the quality of life in the community.

Prior to his service as mayor, Faust was a Planning Commission member and a councilmember for the city. In recent years, he has served on the Board of Directors for the League of Minnesota Cities and as commissioner for the Mississippi Watershed Management Organization. Faust is also a member of the Regional Council of Mayors.

Mayor Faust is a veteran of the Vietnam War and has been awarded several commendations for his service. As mayor he has been cited by colleagues for his passion and stewardship, and for his ability to confront difficult and unexpected challenges.

The C.C. Ludwig award is named for a former League executive director and is considered to be the League’s highest award for elected officials. Established in 1962, the award is presented annually in celebration of outstanding service. Recipients are chosen for their vision, statesmanship, and unwavering commitment to the public good.

The League of Minnesota Cities is a membership organization dedicated to helping cities throughout Minnesota build quality communities through effective advocacy, expert analysis, trusted guidance, and collective action. The League serves its more than 830 member cities through advocacy, education and training, policy development, risk management, and other services.