2017 C.C. Ludwig Award Winner

Minnetonka mayor named 2017 LMC C.C. Ludwig Award winner

(June 15, 2017—Rochester, Minn.) Terry Schneider, mayor of the City of Minnetonka, was awarded the League of Minnesota Cities C.C. Ludwig Award for elected officials at the 2017 LMC Annual Conference in Rochester on June 15.

The C.C. Ludwig Award was established in 1962 in honor of a former League executive director. It is considered to be the League’s highest honor for elected city officials. The award recognizes city officials who possess vision, statesmanship and unwavering commitment to the public good.

Schneider first began serving the city of Minnetonka in 1977 on the city’s park board and soon made his way to the city’s planning commission in 1981. In 1992, Schneider was elected to the city council where he served as a council member until he was elected as mayor in 2009.

Schneider has made many contributions to Minnetonka and the surrounding area over the course of his career. He has been instrumental in preserving Minnetonka’s natural environment, and has worked tirelessly to find new recreational opportunities for the city. With Schneider’s encouragement, the Minnetonka City Council amended its ordinances to allow for smaller lots in an effort to provide more life-cycle housing options.

In 2016, when Minnetonka was asked to approve a conditional use permit for the city’s first Islamic Community Center, some residents attempted to block approval, citing difference in religious beliefs. Mayor Schneider’s commitment to respect and inclusion set the tone for a civil discussion that emphasized inclusion and respect, and the center was ultimately welcomed to Minnetonka.

Schneider’s leadership in these projects has helped ensure the vitality of the community, according to nominators.

Additionally, Schneider has been a “successful bridge builder” during the sometimes-contentious progression of the Southwest Light Rail line (SWLRT), said Sen. Terri Bonoff (DFL-Minnetonka). “He has appropriately balanced the concerns of the community with the need for a sustainable transit option from our community into the economic hubs of the State—Minneapolis and St. Paul,” Bonoff said in her letter of support. Bonoff also mentioned Schneider’s key role in expanding Interstate 494.

Aside from his mayoral and SWLRT roles, Schneider is or has served as a member of the following organizations: Municipal Legislative Commission, West Hennepin Area Mayors Group, League of Minnesota Cities Board of Directors, Metro Cities, Metropolitan Council Transportation Advisory Board, West Hennepin Affordable Housing Land Trust, National League of Cities Community, Economic Development Policy Committee and others.

Due to Schneider’s involvement with various regional and statewide organizations, he has received accolades from numerous individuals. In their nomination letter, Minnetonka City Council members wrote that, “Mayor Schneider is a humble, highly respected leader who is able to accomplish great things through collaboration and cooperation. He understands the important role of local government, and he has dedicated his life to fostering positive change.”

About the judges
The 2017 C.C. Ludwig Award nominations were judged by a panel of former members of the LMC Board of Directors, including Carol Mueller, mayor of the City of Mounds View; Brian Scholin, council member for the City of Pine City; and Craig Waldron, former administrator for the City of Oakdale and currently a professor at Hamline University instructing in public administration.