2015 C.C. Ludwig Award Winner

Plymouth Councilmember Judy Johnson named by the League of Minnesota Cities as the C.C. Ludwig Award recipient for 2015

(June 25, 2015—St. Paul, Minn.) City councilmember and former mayor of Plymouth, Judy Johnson, has been selected as the League of Minnesota Cities C.C. Ludwig Award winner for 2015. The honor was announced today at the League’s Annual Conference in Duluth.

The C.C. Ludwig Award is named for a former League executive director and is considered to be the League’s highest honor for elected officials. Established in 1962, the award is given annually in celebration of outstanding service. Recipients are chosen for their vision, statesmanship, and unwavering commitment to the public good.

Johnson was first elected to Plymouth’s City Council in 1997. After serving as mayor from 2003 to 2006, she took a break from local government until 2008, when she ran and was first elected to the Ward 1 Council seat that she currently holds. Johnson has served in various offices on the League’s Board of Directors for six years, including a one-year term as League president in 2004-2005. As a mayor and councilmember, Johnson worked diligently on development/redevelopment and housing issues, among others.

Of Johnson, one of her nominators noted that, “Judy has a love for city government that is inspiring. She is a hands-on councilmember who takes the time to meet with constituents, check out potholes and unkempt lots, and research concerns.” Another noted that, “[johnson] has made collaboration a hallmark of her public service career. She has consistently promoted cooperative efforts at the local level and statewide as a means of streamlining services, minimizing duplication of facilities, and promoting prudent use of tax dollars.”

About the judges
The 2014 C.C. Ludwig Award nominations were judged by a panel of past League of Minnesota Cities presidents, including: Susan Hoyt, former city administrator for the cities of Falcon Heights, Northfield, and Lake Elmo; H. Dan Ness, former mayor of Alexandria; and Les Heitke, former mayor of Willmar.