2014 Legislators of Distinction

League selects 31 Minnesota lawmakers as Legislators of Distinction of 2014

(July 17, 2014—St. Paul, Minn.) The League of Minnesota Cities has selected 19 members of the Minnesota House of Representatives and 12 state senators as Legislators of Distinction for 2014. The honor recognizes legislators for specific actions that aided efforts of Minnesota cities during this year’s legislative session.

Legislators of Distinction are annually approved by the League’s Board of Directors to recognize that in order to successfully serve commonly shared constituents, state and city officials must work together to meet the unique needs of rural, suburban, and urban residents all across Minnesota.

To be eligible for the Legislator of Distinction honor, legislators must meet one or more of the following criteria:

  • The legislator is generally and reasonably accessible to League representatives.
  • The legislator seeks input on issues of importance to cities.
  • The legislator listens to League concerns and is receptive to the League providing information on issues.
  • The legislator sponsors and/or supports League initiatives.
  • The legislator speaks out on behalf of the interest of cities.
  • The legislator demonstrates the importance of partnership between the state and cities.

Recipients of the recognition received a letter of appreciation and a certificate. The letters of acknowledgement noted the specific act, bill, sponsorship, or actions in support of city-friendly legislation. Additionally, a copy of the Legislator of Distinction acknowledgement letter is sent to the mayor of each city in the district of each award winner. Mayors are encouraged to share these letters with their city council and residents.

The League of Minnesota Cities Legislators of Distinction for 2014 are:

Minnesota House of Representatives
An asterisk (*) notes legislators who are also former elected city officials.
Rep. Greg Davids, R-Preston
Rep. Jim Davnie, DFL-Minneapolis
Rep. Ron Erhardt, DFL-Edina
Rep. Dan Fabian, R-Roseau
Rep. Peter Fischer, DFL-Maplewood
Rep. Mike Freiberg, DFL-Golden Valley*
Rep. Laurie Halverson, DFL-Eagan
Rep. Alice Hausman, DFL-St. Paul
Rep. Frank Hornstein, DFL-Minneapolis
Rep. Ann Lenczewski, DFL-Bloomington*
Rep. Tim Mahoney, DFL-St. Paul
Rep. Jay McNamar, DFL-Elbow Lake*
Rep. Mary Murphy, DFL-Hermantown
Rep. Tim O’Driscoll, R-Sartell
Rep. Linda Runbeck, R-Circle Pines
Rep. Erik Simonson, DFL-Duluth
Rep. Chris Swedzinski, R-Ghent
Rep. Paul Torkelson, R-Hanska
Rep. John Ward, DFL-Baxter

Minnesota Senate
An asterisk (*) notes legislators who are also former elected city officials.
Sen. Jim Carlson, DFL-Eagan
Sen. Gary Dahms, R-Redwood Falls
Sen. Kari Dziedzic, DFL-Minneapolis
Sen. Lyle Koenen, DFL-Clara City
Sen. Sandra L. Pappas, DFL-St. Paul
Sen. John C. Pederson, R-St. Cloud*
Sen. Ann Rest, DFL-New Hope
Sen. Carrie Ruud, R-Breezy Point
Sen. Bev Scalze, DFL-Little Canada*
Sen. Matt Schmit, DFL-Red Wing
Sen. LeRoy Stumpf, DFL-Plummer
Sen. Bill Weber, R-Luverne*