League Honors 34 MN Lawmakers as 2019 Legislators of Distinction

The honor recognizes legislators for specific city-friendly actions during the 2019 legislative session.
(Published Aug 19, 2019)

The League of Minnesota Cities has selected 20 members of the Minnesota House of Representatives and 14 state senators as Legislators of Distinction for 2019. The honor recognizes legislators for specific actions that aided efforts of Minnesota cities during this year’s legislative session.

Legislators of Distinction are annually approved by the League’s Board of Directors to recognize that in order to successfully serve commonly shared constituents, state and city officials must work together to meet the unique needs of rural, suburban, and urban residents all across Minnesota.

To be eligible for Legislator of Distinction honors, legislators must meet one or more of the following criteria:

  • Be generally and reasonably accessible to League representatives.
  • Seek input on issues of importance to cities.
  • Listen to League concerns and be receptive to the League providing information on issues.
  • Sponsor and/or support League initiatives.
  • Speak out on behalf of the interest of cities.
  • Demonstrate the importance of partnership between the state and cities.

Recipients of the recognition received a letter of appreciation and a certificate. The letters of acknowledgement noted the specific act, bill, sponsorship, or actions in support of city-friendly legislation.

Additionally, a copy of the Legislator of Distinction acknowledgement letter is sent to the mayor of each city in the district of each award winner. Mayors are encouraged to share these letters with their city council, residents, and local media.

The League of Minnesota Cities Legislators of Distinction for 2019 are:

Minnesota House of Representatives

An asterisk (*) notes legislators who are also former elected city officials.

  • Rep. Tony Albright, R-Prior Lake, District 55B
  • Rep. Raymond Dehn, DFL-Minneapolis, District 59B
  • Rep. Rob Ecklund, DFL-International Falls, District 3A
  • Rep. Steve Elkins, DFL-Bloomington, District 49B*
  • Rep. Mike Freiberg, DFL-Golden Valley, District 45B*
  • Rep. Bob Gunther, R-Fairmont, District 23A
  • Rep. Laurie Halverson, DFL-Eagan, District 51B
  • Rep. Rick Hansen, DFL-South St. Paul, District 52A
  • Rep. Alice Hausman, DFL-St. Paul, District 66A
  • Rep. Frank Hornstein, DFL-Minneapolis, District 61A
  • Rep. Michael Howard, DFL-Richfield, District 50A*
  • Rep. Erin Koegel, DFL-Spring Lake Park, District 37A
  • Rep. Paul Marquart, DFL-Dilworth, District 04B*
  • Rep. Sandra Masin, DFL-Eagan, District 51A*
  • Rep. Kelly Moller, DFL-Shoreview, District 42A
  • Rep. Mary Murphy, DFL-Hermantown, District 03B
  • Rep. Chris Swedzinski, R-Ghent, District 16A
  • Rep. Brad Tabke, DFL-Shakopee, District 55A*
  • Rep. Paul Torkelson, R-Hanska, District 16B
  • Rep. Cheryl Youakim, DFL-Hopkins, District 46B*

Minnesota Senate

An asterisk (*) notes legislators who are also former elected city officials.

  • Sen. Karla Bigham, DFL-Cottage Grove, District 54*
  • Sen. Jim Carlson, DFL-Eagan, District 51
  • Sen. Gary H. Dahms, R-Redwood Falls, District 16
  • Sen. Scott Dibble, DFL-Minneapolis, District 61
  • Sen. Kari Dziedzic, DFL-Minneapolis, District 60
  • Sen. Jeff Howe, R-Rockville, District 13
  • Sen. John Jasinski, R-Faribault, District 24
  • Sen. Bill Ingebrigtsen, R-Alexandria, District 08
  • Sen. Jerry Relph, R-St. Cloud, District 14*
  • Sen. Ann H. Rest, DFL-New Hope, District 45
  • Sen. Julie A. Rosen, R-Vernon Center, District 23
  • Sen. Carrie Ruud, R-Breezy Point, District 10*
  • Sen. Dave Senjem, R-Rochester, District 25*
  • Sen. Bill Weber, R-Luverne, District 22*

Read the current issue of the Cities Bulletin