League Honors 25 MN Lawmakers as 2018 Legislators of Distinction

The honor recognizes legislators for specific city-friendly actions during the 2018 legislative session.
(Published Jul 30, 2018)

The League of Minnesota Cities has selected 14 members of the Minnesota House of Representatives and 11 state senators as Legislators of Distinction for 2018. The honor recognizes legislators for specific actions that aided efforts of Minnesota cities during this year’s legislative session.

Legislators of Distinction are annually approved by the League’s Board of Directors to recognize that to successfully serve commonly shared constituents, state and city officials must work together to meet the unique needs of rural, suburban, and urban residents across Minnesota.

To be eligible for Legislator of Distinction honors, legislators must meet one or more of the following criteria:

  • The legislator is generally and reasonably accessible to League representatives.
  • The legislator seeks input on issues of importance to cities.
  • The legislator listens to League concerns and is receptive to the League providing information on issues.
  • The legislator sponsors and/or supports League initiatives.
  • The legislator speaks out on behalf of the interest of cities.
  • The legislator demonstrates the importance of partnership between the state and cities.

Recipients of the recognition received a letter of appreciation and a certificate. The letters of acknowledgement noted the specific act, bill, sponsorship, or actions in support of city-friendly legislation. Additionally, a copy of the Legislator of Distinction acknowledgement letter is sent to the mayor of each city in the district of each award winner. Mayors are encouraged to share these letters with their city council, residents, and local media.

The League of Minnesota Cities Legislators of Distinction for 2018 are:

Minnesota House of Representatives

An asterisk (*) notes legislators who are also former elected city officials.

Rep. Greg Davids, R-Preston, District 28B*
Rep. Rob Ecklund, DFL- International Falls, District 3A
Rep. Peter Fischer, DFL- Maplewood, District 43A
Rep. Mike Freiberg, DFL-Golden Valley, District 45B*
Rep. Jeff Howe, R-Rockville, District 13A *
Rep. Erin Koegel, DFL-Spring Lake Park, District 37A
Rep. Dale Lueck, R-Aitkin, District 10B
Rep. Sandra Masin, DFL-Eagan, District 51A*
Rep. Jim Nash, R-Waconia, District 47A*
Rep. Tim O’Driscoll, R- Sartell, District 13B*
Rep. Roz Peterson, R-Lakeville, District 56B
Rep. Paul Torkelson, R-Hanska, District 16B
Rep. Dean Urdahl, R-Grove City, District 18A
Rep. Cheryl Youakim, DFL-Hopkins, District 46B*

Minnesota Senate

An asterisk (*) notes legislators who are also former elected city officials.

Sen. Karla Bigham, DFL-Cottage Grove, District 54*
Sen. Gary H. Dahms, R-Redwood Falls, District 16
Sen. Kari Dziedzic, DFL-Minneapolis, District 60
Sen. Carolyn Laine, DFL-Columbia Heights, District 41
Sen. Jerry Newton, DFL-Coon Rapids, District 37
Sen. Jerry Relph, R-St. Cloud, District 14*
Sen. Ann H. Rest, DFL-New Hope, District 45
Sen. Julie A. Rosen, R-Vernon Center, District 23
Sen. Carrie Ruud, R-Breezy Point, District 10*
Sen. Paul Utke, R-Park Rapids, District 2*
Sen. Bill Weber, R-Luverne, District 22*

Read the current issue of the Cities Bulletin

* By posting you are agreeing to the LMC Comment Policy.