2015 Legislators of Distinction

League selects 28 Minnesota lawmakers as Legislators of Distinction of 2015

(July 20, 2015–St. Paul, Minn.) The League of Minnesota Cities has selected 17 members of the Minnesota House of Representatives and 11 State Senators as Legislators of Distinction for 2015. The honor recognizes legislators for specific actions that aided efforts of Minnesota cities during this year’s legislative session.

Legislators of Distinction are annually approved by the League’s Board of Directors to recognize that in order to successfully serve commonly shared constituents, state and city officials must work together to meet the unique needs of rural, suburban, and urban residents all across Minnesota.

To be eligible for Legislator of Distinction honor, legislators must meet one or more of the following criteria:

  • The legislator is generally and reasonably accessible to League representatives;
  • The legislator seeks input on issues of importance to cities;
  • The legislator listens to League concerns and is receptive to the League providing information on issues;
  • The legislator sponsors and/or supports League initiatives;
  • The legislator speaks out on behalf of the interest of cities; and/or
  • The legislator demonstrates the importance of partnership between the state and cities.

Recipients of the recognition received a letter of appreciation and a certificate. The letters of acknowledgement noted the specific act, bill, sponsorship, or actions in support of city-friendly legislation. Additionally, a copy of the Legislator of Distinction acknowledgement letter is sent to the mayor of each city in the district of each award winner. Mayors are encouraged to share these letters with their city council and residents.

The League of Minnesota Cities Legislators of Distinction for 2015 are:

Minnesota House of Representatives
An asterisk (*) notes legislators who are also former elected city officials.
Rep. Paul Anderson, R-Starbuck
Rep. Greg Davids, R-Preston*
Rep. Dan Fabian, R-Roseau
Rep. Peter Fischer, DFL-Maplewood
Rep. Mike Freiberg, DFL-Golden Valley*
Rep. Bob Gunther, R-Fairmont
Rep. Ron Kresha, R-Little Falls
Rep. Carly Melin, DFL-Hibbing
Rep. Paul Marquart, DFL-Dilworth*
Rep. Denny McNamara, R-Hastings
Rep. Jim Nash, R-Waconia*
Rep. Tim O’Driscoll, R-Sartell*
Rep. Dave Pinto, DFL-St. Paul
Rep. Chris Swedzinski, R-Ghent
Rep. Paul Torkelson, R-Hanska
Rep. Cheryl Youakim, DFL-Hopkins*
Rep. Nick Zerwas, R- Elk River*

Minnesota Senate
An (*) asterisk notes legislators who are also former elected city officials.
Sen. Gary Dahms, R-Redwood Falls
Sen. Scott Dibble, DFL-Minneapolis
Sen. Kari Dziedzic, DFL-Minneapolis
Sen. Kent Eken, DFL-Twin Valley
Sen. Susan Kent, DFL-Woodbury
Sen. Lyle Koenen, DFL-Clara City
Sen. Ann Rest, DFL-New Hope
Sen. Bev Scalze, DFL-Little Canada*
Sen. Matt Schmit, DFL-Red Wing
Sen. LeRoy Stumpf, DFL-Plummer
Sen. Bill Weber, R-Luverne*