2012 Leadership Award Winner

John Gunyou, former city manager for the City of Minnetonka, has been selected as the League of Minnesota Cities Leadership Award winner for 2012. The award was presented June 21 at the League’s Annual Conference in Duluth. The Leadership Award is considered to be the League’s highest honor for appointed city officials, and is given annually in celebration of outstanding service.

Gunyou, who served as city manager for 12 years before retiring earlier this month, was cited for being an “…outspoken advocate for innovative thinking in the public sector, from public-private partnerships to cooperative agreements between cities.” In 2008, he worked with the city’s senior leadership to implement a significant restructuring of city departments to streamline service and reduce costs.

In the late 1980s and early 1990s, Gunyou worked as the city finance officer for the City of Minneapolis and then as state finance commissioner. He recently served on the State Council for Local Results and Innovation, which developed service delivery performance measures for cities and counties. Gunyou also served on the State Arts Board and the Minnesota Department of Transportation’s Public-Private Partnerships in Transportation Policy Task Force.

About the judges
Judges for the 2012 Leadership Award were Ardell F. Brede, mayor of Rochester and former League president; Tom Eggum, consultant for the Municipal Services Division of TKDA and former public works director/city engineer for St. Paul; Greg Lindsey, professor and executive associate dean for the Humphrey School of Public Affairs; and Eric Sorensen, former city administrator for the City of Winona.