2015 Leadership Award Winner

Public Safety Director Belland from Medina wins Leadership Award honors from the League of Minnesota Cities

(June 25, 2015—St. Paul, Minn.) The City of Medina’s public safety director, Ed Belland, has been selected as the League of Minnesota Cities Leadership Award winner for 2015. The award was presented today at the League’s Annual Conference in Duluth. The Leadership Award is considered to be the League’s highest honor for appointed city officials, and is given annually in celebration of outstanding service.

Chief Belland, who has served in his current position for 17 years, also worked for several years as a Medina police officer. “He has provided the City of Medina with the backbone for the relationships necessary to establish a regional approach to public safety services,” said City Administrator Scott Johnson. “This approach has saved area taxpayers and provided quicker, coordinated responses to emergency situations.”

Chief Belland has also served as chair of the West Metro Drug Task Force, a board member for Corner House Interagency Child Abuse Evaluation and Training Center, and as a founding board member of the Lake Minnetonka Emergency Management Group. He is also a member of the Hennepin County Police Chiefs Association, Minnesota Police Chiefs Association, and the Association of Minnesota Emergency Managers.

About the judges
The 2015 Leadership Award nominations were judged by a panel of past League of Minnesota Cities presidents, including: Susan Hoyt, former city administrator for the cities of Falcon Heights, Northfield, and Lake Elmo; H. Dan Ness, former mayor of Alexandria; and Les Heitke, former mayor of Willmar.