2019 GreenStep Cities

League of Minnesota Cities recognizes GreenStep Cities participants for completing steps toward environmental sustainability goals

(June 27, 2019–St. Paul, MN) The League of Minnesota Cities recognized several member cities at an awards ceremony today for completing participation steps in the Minnesota GreenStep Cities program.

GreenStep Cities is a free, voluntary program designed to help Minnesota cities meet environmental sustainability goals through the implementation of 29 best practice actions. There are currently 124 cities and three tribal nations, for a total of 127 program participants since the launch of the program at the League’s 2010 Annual Conference.

The GreenStep Cities 29 best practice actions are separated info five categories and tailored to all types of Minnesota cities. The actions focus on cost savings, energy use reduction, and encouraging innovation. Cities achieved Step One recognition by passing a resolution to become a GreenStep City over the past year. Step Two-designated cities implemented up to eight of the program’s best practice actions, and Step Three-designated cities implemented up to 16 best practice actions.

Step Four cities tracked and submitted metrics from a selection of categories, such as energy and water use, vehicle fleet efficiency, community and economic development, and more. Cities achieved Step Five status by documenting and demonstrating improvement on Step Four metrics. Some cities were recognized for achieving more than one step during the year, and some were recognized for achieving the highest step—Step Five—for a second year or more.

The cities recognized for Step One completion are Chanhassen, Dilworth, Hallock, Mahnomen, and Stillwater.

Cities completing Step Two include Chanhassen, Crosslake, North Branch, Shorewood, South St. Paul, Stillwater, West St. Paul, Winona, and Wyoming.

Step Three cities are Crystal, Inver Grove Heights, Moorhead, Morris, Richfield, Roseville, and Scandia.

Cities receiving Step Four distinction include Eagan, Eden Prairie, Elk River, Falcon Heights, Golden Valley, Hutchinson, Isanti, Mahtomedi, Maplewood, Minnetonka, New Brighton, Oakdale, Red Wing, St. Anthony Village, St. Paul, Shoreview, and Woodbury.

The cities recognized at Step Five–the highest designation–are Eagan, Eden Prairie, Elk River, Falcon Heights, Hutchinson, Isanti, Maplewood, Oakdale, Red Wing, St. Anthony Village, St. Paul, Shoreview, and Woodbury.

In addition to the League, GreenStep Cities partners include the Minnesota Pollution Control Agency, the Division of Energy Resources at the Minnesota Department of Commerce, the Clean Energy Resource Teams (CERTS), the Great Plains Institute, the Izaak Walton League—Minnesota Division, the Urban Land Institute of Minnesota, the Minnesota Environmental Quality Board, and the Preservation Alliance of Minnesota.

This year’s GreenStep Cities recognition sponsors include Amaresco, BKV Group, CenterPoint Energy, Engan Associates, Johnson Controls, McKinstry, and the Minnesota Pollution Control Agency.

The League of Minnesota Cities is a membership organization dedicated to helping cities throughout Minnesota build quality communities through effective advocacy, expert analysis, trusted guidance, and collective action. The League serves its more than 830 member cities through advocacy, education and training, policy development, risk management, and other services.