House Announces New Committee Structure for 2019 Legislative Session

A new DFL majority in the House means new committee structures and new chairs, while few changes were made in the Senate.
(Published Dec 3, 2018)

House Speaker-designate Melissa Hortman (DFL-Brooklyn Park) on Nov. 28 announced the committee structure, chairs, and meeting schedule for the 2019 legislative session. This information is helpful for moving city issues through the legislative process.

The House, which has a new DFL majority, will increase from 29 to 34 committees, subcommittees, and divisions. Committee membership is expected to be announced later this month.

Senate changes

Because the Senate will continue with a Republican majority, only a few changes have been made to the committees. Sen. Jeremy Miller (R-Winona) was named president of the Senate, a position last held by Lt. Gov. Michelle Fischbach (R-Paynesville).

Sen. Eric Pratt (R-Prior Lake) will now chair the Jobs & Economic Growth Finance & Policy Committee, which was previously chaired by Sen. Miller.

Read the current issue of the Cities Bulletin

* By posting you are agreeing to the LMC Comment Policy.