Community Resilience Roundtables: 2020 Trends in Minnesota

Register now!
Please note: Registration is through the Association of Minnesota Counties. The League of Minnesota Cities is partnering with several state and local government organizations to co-sponsor this event, as listed at the bottom of this page.

As we begin a new year, and decade, what does it mean for a community to be resilient?

Starting this coming March, join fellow city officials, along with colleagues from counties, school boards, and townships, to discuss a wide range of trends affecting communities across the state, including:

  • Aging
  • Technology
  • Immigration
  • Economic volatility
  • Workforce challenges
  • Housing

Facilitators from the Center for Rural Policy Development and the University of Minnesota-Extension will share insights and lead discussions as you explore ways local government leaders can come together to address how you can work with each other during these changing times. All city officials, particularly top appointed officials and department heads, are encouraged to attend.

Community Resilience Roundtable Partners

The Center for Rural Policy Development is a non-partisan, not-for-profit policy research organization dedicated to benefiting Minnesota by providing its policy makers with unbiased information and evaluation of issues from a rural perspective.

The University of Minnesota-Extension’s Rural Stress Task Force applies programming and expertise to help families respond to current economic, environmental, and societal challenges that affect communities across the state. The team works with state agencies and agricultural organizations as well as colleagues throughout the University of Minnesota.

Julie Tesch, President & CEO, Center for Rural Policy and Development
Marnie Werner, Vice President of Research & Operations, Center for Rural Policy and Development
Kelly Asche, Research Associate, Center for Rural Policy and Development
Emily Wilmes, Task Force Director & Extension Educator, Livestock, University of Minnesota-Extension Rural Stress Task Force
Megan Roberts, Extension Educator, Agricultural Business Management, University of Minnesota-Extension Rural Stress Task Force

Audience: Top appointed officials, department heads, and elected officials

Registration Fee: FREE
Please note: This workshop is free of charge, but registration is required. Lunch is not provided for this workshop.

Time: 9:30 a.m.-3:15 p.m. (Check-in begins at 9 a.m.)
Please note: lunch will be on your own from 12-12:45 p.m.

March 5 — Staples
Sourcewell (formerly National Joint Powers Alliance)
202 12th Street NE (view map)
Staples, MN 56479

March 12 — St. Paul
Minnesota Counties Intergovernmental Trust (MCIT)
100 Empire Drive, Suite 100 (view map)
St. Paul, MN 55103

March 25 — North Mankato
South Central Services Cooperative
2075 Lookout Drive (view map)
Mankato, MN 56003

April 8 — Marshall
Southwest West Central College
1420 E College Drive (view map)
Marshall, MN 56258

April 29 — Fergus Falls
Lakes Country Service Cooperative
1001 E Mount Faith (view map)
Fergus Falls, MN 56537

The League of Minnesota Cities is co-sponsoring this event with the Association of Minnesota Counties, Lakes Country Service Cooperative, the Minnesota Association of Townships, the Minnesota School Boards Association, Sourcewell, the Southwest West Central College, and University of Minnesota Extension.

Big 4 workshop sponsors.