14 Minnesota Cities Certified as Telecommuter Forward! Communities

August 17, 2020

The certified cities have met the requirements of the program to promote telecommuting options.

Gov. Tim Walz issued a proclamation on Aug. 7 recognizing 23 cities, townships, and counties for their certification as Telecommuter Forward! Communities and declared Aug. 7 Telecommuter Forward! Day.

The Telecommuter Forward! program is administered by the state Office of Broadband Development. Communities certified as Telecommuter Forward! Communities must adopt a model resolution, including a statement of support to promote telecommuting in their community. They must also identify an employee or single contact for coordinating telecommuting opportunities and ways to advance telecommuting within their community.

The following communities have been certified:


  • Albany
  • Balaton
  • Big Lake
  • Bigfork
  • Halstad
  • Lake Benton
  • Lake Crystal
  • Madelia
  • Monticello
  • North Branch
  • Preston
  • Spring Grove
  • Warren
  • Windom


  • Beltrami
  • Big Stone
  • Chisago
  • Cook
  • Lincoln
  • Sherburne
  • Swift
  • Martin


  • Greenvale

—Learn more about the program from the Office of Broadband Development website

Read more news articles