League Honors 35 Minnesota Lawmakers as 2023 Legislators of Distinction

July 24, 2023

The honor recognizes legislators for specific city-friendly actions during the 2023 legislative session.

The League of Minnesota Cities has selected 20 members of the Minnesota House of Representatives and 15 state Senators as Legislators of Distinction for 2023. The honor recognizes legislators for specific actions that aided the efforts of Minnesota cities during this year’s legislative session.

Legislators of Distinction are annually approved by the League’s Board of Directors to recognize that in order to successfully serve commonly shared constituents, state, and city officials must work together to meet the unique needs of rural, suburban, and urban residents all across Minnesota.

To be eligible for Legislator of Distinction honors, legislators must meet one or more of the following criteria:

  • The legislator is generally and reasonably accessible to League representatives.
  • The legislator seeks input on issues of importance to cities.
  • The legislator listens to League concerns and is receptive to the League providing information on issues.
  • The legislator sponsors and/or supports League initiatives.
  • The legislator speaks out on behalf of the interest of cities.
  • The legislator demonstrates the importance of partnership between the state and cities.

Recipients of the recognition will receive a letter of appreciation and a certificate. The letters of acknowledgement note the specific act, bill, sponsorship, or actions in support of city-friendly legislation. Additionally, a copy of the Legislator of Distinction acknowledgement letter will be sent to the mayor of each city in the district of each award winner. Mayors are encouraged to share these letters with their city council, residents, and local media.

The League of Minnesota Cities Legislators of Distinction for 2023


  • Rep. Patty Acomb, DFL — Minnetonka, District 45B
  • Rep. Esther Agbaje, DFL — Minneapolis, District 59B
  • Rep. Jeff Brand, DFL — St. Peter, District 18A
  • Rep. Mike Freiberg, DFL — Golden Valley, District 43B
  • Rep. Aisha Gomez, DFL — Minneapolis, District 62A
  • Rep. Kaohly Her, DFL— St. Paul, District 64A
  • Rep. Frank Hornstein, DFL — Minneapolis, District 61A
  • Rep. Michael Howard, DFL — Richfield, District 51A
  • Rep. Jim Joy, R — Hawley, District 04B
  • Rep. Ginny Klevorn, DFL — Plymouth, District 42B
  • Rep. Erin Koegel, DFL — Spring Lake Park, District 39A
  • Rep. Larry Kraft, DFL — St. Louis Park, District 46A
  • Rep. Leon Lillie, DFL — North St. Paul, District 44B
  • Rep. Dave Lislegard, DFL — Aurora, District 07B
  • Rep. Danny Nadeau, R — Rogers, District 34A
  • Rep. Jim Nash, R — Waconia, District 48A
  • Rep. Matt Norris, DFL — Blaine, District 32B
  • Rep. Marion Rarick, R — Maple Lake, District 29B
  • Rep. Roger Skraba, R — Ely, District 03A
  • Rep. Dean Urdahl, R — Grove City, District 16A


  • Sen. Jim Carlson DFL — Eagan, District 52
  • Sen. Steve Cwodzinski DFL — Eden Prairie, District 49
  • Sen. Scott Dibble DFL — Minneapolis, District 61
  • Sen. Nick Frentz DFL — North Mankato, District 18
  • Sen. Heather Gustafson DFL — Vadnais Heights, District 36
  • Sen. Grant Hauschild DFL — Hermantown, District 03
  • Sen. Foung Hawj DFL — St. Paul, District 67
  • Sen. John Jasinski, R — Faribault, District 19
  • Sen. Matt Klein DFL — Mendota Heights, District 53
  • Sen. Erin Murphy DFL — St. Paul, District 64
  • Sen. Carla Nelson, R — Rochester, District 24
  • Sen. Sandra L. Pappas DFL — St. Paul, District 65
  • Sen. Lindsey Port DFL — Burnsville, District 55
  • Sen. Jordan Rasmusson R — Fergus Falls, District 09
  • Sen. Ann Rest DFL — New Hope, District 43

Read more news articles