League Honors 18 MN Lawmakers as 2022 Legislators of Distinction

July 25, 2022

The honor recognizes legislators for specific city-friendly actions during the 2022 legislative session.

The League of Minnesota Cities has selected nine members of the Minnesota House of Representatives and nine state senators as Legislators of Distinction for 2022. The honor recognizes legislators for specific actions that aided efforts of Minnesota cities during this year’s legislative session.

Legislators of Distinction are annually approved by the League’s Board of Directors to recognize that in order to successfully serve commonly shared constituents, state and city officials must work together to meet the unique needs of rural, suburban, and urban residents all across Minnesota.

To be eligible for Legislator of Distinction honors, legislators must meet one or more of the following criteria:

  • The legislator is generally and reasonably accessible to League representatives.
  • The legislator seeks input on issues of importance to cities.
  • The legislator listens to League concerns and is receptive to the League providing information on issues.
  • The legislator sponsors and/or supports League initiatives.
  • The legislator speaks out on behalf of the interest of cities.
  • The legislator demonstrates the importance of partnership between the state and cities.

Recipients of the recognition received a letter of appreciation and a certificate. The letters of acknowledgement noted the specific act, bill, sponsorship, or actions in support of city-friendly legislation. Additionally, a copy of the Legislator of Distinction acknowledgement letter is sent to the mayor of each city in the district of each award winner. Mayors are encouraged to share these letters with their city council, residents, and local media.

The League of Minnesota Cities Legislators of Distinction for 2022 are:

Minnesota House of Representatives

An asterisk (*) notes legislators who are also former elected city officials.

  • Representative Tony Albright, R- Prior Lake, District 55B
  • Representative Alice Hausman, DFL- St. Paul, District 66A
  • Representative Josh Heintzeman, R- Nisswa, District 10A
  • Representative Kaohly Vang Her, DFL- St. Paul, District 64A*
  • Representative Jamie Long, DFL- Minneapolis, District 61B
  • Representative Paul Marquart, DFL- Dilworth, District 04B*
  • Representative Kristin Robbins, R- Maple Grove, District 34A
  • Representative Dan Wolgamott, DFL- St. Cloud, District 14B
  • Representative Cheryl Youakim, DFL- Hopkins, District 46B*

Minnesota Senate

An asterisk (*) notes legislators who are also former elected city officials.

  • Senator Julia Coleman, R- Waconia, District 47
  • Senator Kari Dziedzic DFL-Minneapolis, District 60
  • Senator Jeff Howe R-Rockville, District 13*
  • Senator John Jasinski R- Faribault, District 24*
  • Senator Matt Klein, DFL- Mendota Heights, District 52
  • Senator Lindsey Port, DFL – Burnsville, District 56
  • Senator Eric Pratt, R – Prior Lake, District 55
  • Senator Ann Rest, DFL- New Hope, District 45
  • Senator Carrie Ruud, R- Breezy Point, District 10

Read more news articles