2011 C.C. Ludwig Award Winnners

Elected officials from Shoreview and Wadena receive top individual honors from the League of Minnesota Cities

Mayor Martin and Mayor Wolden named as C.C. Ludwig Award recipients

(June 16, 2011—St. Paul, Minn.) Mayor Sandy Martin of Shoreview and Mayor Wayne Wolden of Wadena have been selected as League of Minnesota Cities C.C. Ludwig Award winners for 2011. The honorees were announced today at the League’s Annual Conference in Rochester.

The C.C. Ludwig Award is named in honor of a former League executive director, and is considered to be the League’s highest honor for elected officials. Established in 1962, the award is given annually in celebration of outstanding service. Recipients are chosen for their vision, statesmanship, and unwavering commitment to the public good.

Mayor Sandy Martin
Mayor Martin, who received the C.C. Ludwig Award for elected officials from cities with populations of 10,000 or more, was cited for being instrumental in enhancing Shoreview’s reputation as one of the most livable suburban communities in the Twin Cities metro area.

She began her service to the City of Shoreview as a member of the city’s planning commission from 1975 to 1988. After being appointed to the City Council in 1989, Mayor Martin served on the Council until 1993 and has served as mayor since 1997.

Mayor Wayne Wolden
Mayor Wolden, who received the C.C. Ludwig Award for elected officials from cities with populations of less than 10,000, was cited for his tremendous leadership in the community following the tornado that struck his city in June of 2010.

After serving on the Wadena City Council from 1992 to 1996, Mayor Wolden was first elected as mayor in 1998. He has also served as a Board of Directors member for the League of Minnesota Cities and as president of the Coalition of Greater Minnesota Cities.

About the judges
Judges for the 2011 C.C. Ludwig Awards were Jane McPeak, associate professor for the School of Business, Public & Nonprofit Department, at Hamline University; Louis Jambois, executive director of the St. Paul Port Authority and former executive director of Metro Cities; and Mary Quirk, volunteer resources leadership project manager with the Minnesota Association for Volunteer Administration.