2013 C.C. Ludwig Award Winner

Independence Mayor Marvin Johnson named as C.C. Ludwig Award recipient

(June 20, 2013 – St. Paul, Minn.) Mayor Marvin Johnson of Independence has been selected as the League of Minnesota Cities C.C. Ludwig Award winner for 2013. The honor was announced today at the League’s Annual Conference in St. Paul.

The C.C. Ludwig Award is named for a former League executive director, and is considered to be the League’s highest honor for elected officials. Established in 1962, the award is given annually in celebration of outstanding service. Recipients are chosen for their vision, statesmanship, and unwavering commitment to the public good.

Johnson has served as mayor for 33 years and served as a city councilmember in Independence prior to that. According to his nominators, “The evidence of his leadership within our community can be easily demonstrated by his amazing tenure, but more accurately by the quality of life in the community he has worked so hard to build and sustain.”

Johnson is a past president of the League of Minnesota Cities and of the Minnesota Mayors Association. Additionally, he has served on steering committees for the National League of Cities as well as a number of regional coalitions and commissions dealing with local government issues.

About the judges
The 2013 Leadership Award nominations were judged by a panel of past League of Minnesota Cities presidents, including: Del Haag, former councilmember for the City of Buffalo; Todd Prafke, city administrator for the City of St. Peter; and Mark Voxland, mayor of the City of Moorhead.