2012-2013 LMC President

Councilmember Betsy Hodges of Minneapolis elected as League of Minnesota Cities President for 2012-2013

(June 21, 2012–St. Paul, Minn.) Betsy Hodges, Ward 13 Councilmember for the City of Minneapolis, was elected today as the President of the League of Minnesota Cities for 2012-2013. The election was held today in Duluth at the League’s Annual Conference.

A Minnesota native, Hodges has served on the Minneapolis City Council since 2005 and as the League’s First Vice President since 2011. She is currently chair for the Council’s Ways and Means Committee, and has also chaired the Legislative Committee. Hodges previously worked as a staff person for Hennepin County Commissioner Gail Dorfman, and as Development Director for local nonprofit organizations. She earned a BA degree in psychology and sociology from Bryn Mawr College in 1991 and a MA in sociology from the University of Wisconsin-Madison in 1998.

“It is crucial that Minnesota cities work in cooperation to meet the challenges that we all face,” Hodges said. “I am honored to lead the League of Minnesota Cities through the next phase of our work together as municipalities.”