2013 Leadership Award Winner

Finance director from the City of Shoreview wins Leadership Award honors from the League of Minnesota Cities

(June 20, 2013 – St. Paul, Minn.) Shoreview Finance Director Jeanne Haapala has been selected as the League of Minnesota Cities Leadership Award winner for 2013. The award was presented today at the League’s Annual Conference in St. Paul. The Leadership Award is considered to be the League’s highest honor for appointed city officials, and is given annually in celebration of outstanding service.

Haapala, who has served in her current position since 1988, was cited for demonstrating “…her dedication, commitment, and creativity not only to the City of Shoreview but to the government finance profession.” She recently developed a five-year financial operating plan for the city that includes a three-year history of expenditures, as well as operating projections for all funds for the next five years. Haapala then led the city’s conversion to a biennial budget for the 2012-13 calendar year, further expanding the city’s focus on long-range planning.

Haapala has served as president of the Minnesota Chapter of the Government Finance Officers Association, and on National Government Finance Officers Association committees. Prior to her employment in Shoreview, she worked as finance director for the City of Cottage Grove from 1985-88, and as an accountant for the City of Ramsey from 1977-85.

About the judges
The 2013 Leadership Award nominations were judged by a panel of past League of Minnesota Cities presidents, including: Del Haag, former councilmember for the City of Buffalo; Todd Prafke, city administrator for the City of St. Peter; and Mark Voxland, mayor of the City of Moorhead.