Wadena Councilmember Appointed to Governor’s Broadband Task Force

Councilmember Donald Niles of Wadena will bring the city perspective to the task force.
(Published Jun 1, 2015)

Gov. Dayton has announced the appointments to the Task Force on Broadband. One of the new appointees is Wadena City Councilmember Donald Niles, who will bring the city perspective.

The task force, which was established by Executive Order 11-27, is charged with developing policies to promote the expansion of broadband access in Minnesota. Gov. Dayton’s stated goal is “border-to-border” high-speed Internet and cell phone access throughout Minnesota.

Margaret Anderson Kelliher, Executive Director of the Minnesota High Tech Association and former Speaker of the Minnesota House of Representatives, will continue as the chair of the task force.

In addition to Niles, new members of the task force include:

  • Hannah Buckland, Director of Library Services at Leech Lake Tribal College and a resident of Bemidji
  • Denise Dittrich, Associate Director for Governmental Relations for the Minnesota School Boards Association and a resident of Champlin
  • Kevin Hansen, Vice President of Data Center Strategy for Thomson Reuters and a resident of Eagan
  • Shannon Heim, Senior Counsel at Dykema Gossett PLLC, in Minneapolis
  • Neela Mollgaard, Executive Director of Red Wing Ignite
  • Andrew Schriner, Director of Public Policy at CenturyLink and a resident of Eagan

Reappointed members of the task force include:

  • Angie Dickison, Information Systems Director for Lake County
  • Maureen Ideker, Director of Telehealth for Essentia Health and a resident of Sunburg
  • Bernadine Joselyn, Director of Public Policy and Engagement at the Blandin Foundation, based in Grand Rapids
  • Steve Lewsader, President of the Communications Workers of America, Local 7201 in St. Paul, and a resident of South St. Paul
  • Daniel Richter, President of MVTV Wireless, headquartered in Granite Falls
  • Richard Sjoberg, President and CEO of Sjoberg’s Cable, based in Thief River Falls
  • Paul Weirtz, President, AT&T Minnesota and a resident of Bayport

The League would like to thank Andrea Casselton, formerly with the City of St. Paul, for her service on the task force on behalf of Minnesota cities for the past two years.

Read the current issue of the Cities Bulletin

* By posting you are agreeing to the LMC Comment Policy.