Recent League Appointments

Statewide Emergency Communications Board Appointment

Eric Anderson, mayor of Mankato, was appointed by the League Board on March 20 as the Greater Minnesota appointee to the Statewide Emergency Communications Board (SECB). Patrick Novacek, Roseau councilmember, was appointed as the alternate.

The SECB (formerly the Statewide Radio Board) consists of 20 people, two of whom are appointed by the League with one from Greater Minnesota and another from the nine-county metropolitan area. Rosemount Mayor Bill Droste serves as the League’s metro designee.

The SECB was created by the Minnesota Legislature in 2004 to implement the Statewide Interoperable Public Safety Radio and Communication System Plan. That plan evolved out of the implementation of a region-wide interoperable radio system in the Minneapolis/St. Paul metropolitan area in 2001.

At the time the SECB was created, the Statewide Interoperable Public Safety Radio and Communication System was given the name of Allied Radio Matrix for Emergency Response (ARMER). The ARMER system is a major element of Minnesota’s long-term interoperable communication planning, but not the only element.

The other SECB members include appointments by the Association of Minnesota Counties, Minnesota Sheriffs’ Association, Minnesota Chiefs of Police Association, Minnesota Fire Chiefs Association, and the Minnesota Ambulance Association. The commissioners of Public Safety, Finance, Transportation and Natural Resources, along with the state chief information officer, the chief of the Minnesota State Patrol, and the chair of the Metropolitan Council also serve on the Board.

Electronic Roster Task Force Appointment

Minnetonka City Clerk David Maeda was appointed by the League on June 18, 2013, as the city appointee to the Electronic Roster Task Force. The task force is responsible for researching issues related to electronic roster technology, data security, photograph use with the roster, reliability of data from other state departments, ability of precincts across the state to securely connect to electronic roster, and the direct and indirect costs associated with using electronic rosters.

The task force must submit a report summarizing its findings and listing recommendations for the implementation of electronic rosters statewide by Jan. 31, 2014, to the chairs and ranking minority members of the elections committees at the state Legislature.

The task force was established in the elections omnibus bill, in conjunction with a pilot study of five cities that may use electronic poll books for the elections in November of 2013. The bill was signed into law as Chapter 131 on May 23.

Membership will consist of 15 elections officials and staff from local governments, state departments, and the Legislature. The governor has authority to appoint three individuals, one of which should be familiar with electronic roster technology. No member may represent, nor have a financial interest in, a specific vendor of the technology.

The Office of the Secretary of State will convene the task force on July 9 and the Legislative Coordinating Commission will provide staff to facilitate the work of the task force. Article 4, section 2 of Chapter 131 describes the task force members and charge in further detail.

Read about appointment opportunities

Read the current issue of the Cities Bulletin