2009 Ludwig Awards

Elected officials from Moorhead and Jordan receive top honors from the League of Minnesota Cities

Mayor Voxland and former Mayor Jabs named as C.C. Ludwig recipients

(June 24, 2009—St. Paul, Minn.) Mayor Mark Voxland of Moorhead and former Mayor Ronald H. Jabs of Jordan have been selected as League of Minnesota Cities C.C. Ludwig Award winners for 2009. The honorees were announced today at the League’s Annual Conference in St. Paul.

The C.C. Ludwig Award is named in honor of a former League executive director, and is considered to be the League’s highest honor for elected officials. Established in 1962, the award is given annually in celebration of outstanding service. Recipients are chosen for their vision, statesmanship, and unwavering commitment to the public good.

Mayor Voxland, who received the C.C. Ludwig Award for elected officials from cities with populations of 10,000 or more, was cited for taking the lead on Moorhead’s Downtown Revitalization program and for his around-the-clock efforts during the recent flooding in the Fargo-Moorhead area.

Voxland is a former president of the League of Minnesota Cities, and has also served on the Board of Directors for the Coalition of Greater Minnesota Cities. In 2003-2004, he chaired the League-driven Financing Local Government Task Force. Voxland currently serves as Red River Basin commissioner.

Former Mayor Jabs, who received the C.C. Ludwig Award for elected officials from cities with populations of less than 10,000, was cited for consistently promoting progress, development, and growth in his city. He played a key role in construction of a state-of-the-art wastewater and water treatment plant.

Mayor Jabs recently served as president of the Minnesota Mayors Association, and has been a member of that group’s Board of Directors since 2003. He also served on the League of Minnesota Cities Board of Directors from 1999-2002. In 2008, he was honored as a City of Jordan Distinguished Service Award Recipient.

Judges for the 2009 C.C. Ludwig Awards were Jay Kiedrowski, Senior Fellow at the Public and Nonprofit Leadership Center at the Humphrey Institute of Public Affairs at the University of Minnesota; Marcia Marcoux, former Rochester city council member; and Diana McKeown, metro coordinator for Clean Energy Resource Teams at the Green Institute.

Return to News Releases